by jhoratio
mkiefte wrote:
To cancel the card, you would place two influence in Cuba, then remove them.
If you can't place influence in Cuba (which is likely the case!), you're out of luck.
If you can't place influence in Cuba (which is likely the case!), you're out of luck.
Really? This seems to be an odd interpretation. I'd think it was benchmarked against when the card was played. Meaning, if it was played by the US with Cuba at 0/3 USSR inf., then I'd think the US would be forcing the USSR to decide between pulling control out of Cuba and being able to coup. What you seem to be saying here is that in this case the USSR player could burn some Ops playing 2 additional inf. on Cuba (bringing them to 5), then take them away, which would cancel the card AND retain control. This seems like a bad reading of the rules to me and not in the spirit of the game or real life event for that matter. In the actual event, they took the missiles away, they didn't bring MORE missiles, then take those away, leaving the original missiles.
I think someone would obviously be free to up the ante and play into Cuba, but if they did and subsequently on the turn they wanted to cancel the CMC card and coup, they'd have to bring it all the way down to 2 less then what it was when the card was played.